The Scarcity Mentality

I will never forget the night I found out I was pregnant. My husband and I were preparing for a 6-hour car ride up to northern California for my cousin’s wedding the next morning. After wondering why I was five days late, we decided to take a pregnancy test to “put our minds at ease”… boy, were we surprised.

I can’t remember much of that moment (or maybe I’m choosing not to remember). But I do remember the 6-hour car ride shortly after. It was incredibly quiet. My husband was cheering inside. I, however, was filled with anxiety. All I could think about was how my life would change forever; I would have to postpone my graduate school degree… I was losing that precious time with my husband to figure out marriage without a baby… I had no pre-existing mommy friends to talk to or help me through this process. Yikes.

I was rigidly fixed on everything I’d be losing… too inwardly focused and selfish to see all that God was blessing me with.

Gratitude is a discipline.

“For me, and for many of us, our first waking thought of the day is ‘I didn’t get enough sleep.’ The next one is ‘I don’t have enough time.’ Whether true or not, that thought of ‘not enough’ occurs to us automatically before we even think to question or examine it. We spend most of the hours and days of our lives hearing, explaining, complaining or worrying about what we don’t have enough of… This internal condition of scarcity, this mind-set of scarcity, lives at the very heart of our jealousies, our greed, our prejudice, and our arguments with life.” – Lynne Twist

Our culture leans toward a ‘scarcity mentality’, meaning we are much quicker to take note of what we don’t have, rather than what we have… what went wrong, instead of what went right… what we are not instead of what we are…

I am overjoyed with all that God has given me… including a precious baby boy! And with that precious baby boy has come a slew of new blessings that I really cannot get over. I decided to start practicing the discipline of gratitude. And with that… I will start by writing out ten things I’m grateful for this week:

  1. My Husband– As an extrovert, I am so grateful to have someone to chat with about every single stupid detail of my day… someone who cares to know about how I’m doing, how he can be serving me and is in continual prayer for me.
  2. Time off– thanks to baby, I get an entire 8 months off of school! I now have a built-in “sabbatical” from work & academic life. What an incredible time of restoration and rejuvenation! Plus… I get non-stop snuggles with this little man:
    Image

  3. Disneyland– Can you be grateful for something you can’t go to anymore? Nick and I had Disneyland season passes for a year that recently expired. We are already saving up so that we can get them again. Disneyland was the perfect date night for us… and it will soon be the perfect family night 🙂
    Image

  4. Los Angeles– When else in my life will I live right by a big city, gorgeous beaches, beautiful museums, top universities and Disneyland? Only in LA…
  5. Takenoko (or games in general)– thanks to our friends Steve & Larissa, we are now in love with this simple yet strategic board game… Finally an awesome two-player game we can play in the evenings! It feeds our competitive edge 😉
    Image

  6. Mom’s Bible Study– I recently joined a mom’s bible study to connect with other moms (since I don’t know too many). I absolutely love it and look forward to it every week.
  7. Hand-me-down baby clothes- Joshua has a plethora of baby clothes thanks to friends from church and my incredible sister-in-law. Now my baby can be adorably trendy despite my total lack of fashion sense 🙂
  8. Amazon- been using this probably too much this week. I get free shipping with prime… a continuous resource for cheap books (since I LOVE to read)… and super cheap diapers… what’s not to be grateful for?
  9. Our new camera- Canon rebel t3i… one of the best investments we’ve ever made. Now I can capture life in high resolution 🙂
  10. Our Church- I’ve recently been realizing that I am part of a church that is fully devoted to living life on mission with Jesus. They have already helped me grow immensely in my love for God. They have equipped and empowered me to grow, serve & teach both in and out of the church. I haven’t encountered many churches that have done or would do the same for me.
4 thoughts on “The Scarcity Mentality

Leave a Reply

