My Morning Routine at the Coffee Shop

I’ve been spending nearly every morning at the coffee shop near my house. I wake up, feed josh, shower, get dressed & head out. Here’s a shot I took earlier this week:

photo-12

Spending a couple hours here in the morning has been a vital part of my day. Why, you ask?

  1. I get uninterrupted time with God.
    At home I’m distracted… by the TV, by chores that need to get done, by baby, etc etc. Here, I only focus on getting to read my bible, pray, journal & think. The baby always sleeps in the stroller so I don’t have to cater to him… other than glancing at him every 5 minutes or so.
  2. I get to read & write.
    I LOVE reading and I LOVE writing (hence blog). I’m often reading a fun, fictional book + a Christian book + journaling + writing. This is an awesome combo for me.
  3. I get my Coffee.
    I have a teething 4-month old who HIGHLY prefers sleeping in mommy’s arms over his crib. I’ll let you guess how much uninterrupted sleep I get at night. Girlfriend needs her coffee.
  4. I get to put on normal clothes & get out of the house.
    Moms get me. I’m currently a full-time mommy… a job that’s better done in your PJs. But you can imagine how ridiculous I feel when I go all day without having showered & gotten out of my nighttime clothes. Getting to the coffee shop in the morning forces me to look presentable and cater to myself a little bit.
  5. I get human interaction.
    Once again… moms, you get me. I spend all day with a baby. It’s nice to hear/have adult conversation.
  6. Baby gets nap time.
    For whatever reason, Josh sleeps better in his stroller & out of the house than at home in his crib. Or maybe he’s used to the routine of it all… but he always sleeps at the coffee shop while I do my own thing. I love my baby 🙂

 

What routines do you practice?

One thought on “My Morning Routine at the Coffee Shop

  1. Funny Runny Ren says:

    As a soon to be first time mom your blog is so encouraging! I am nervous about all the things that are to come and what this little blessing means for my future. It’s great to read another mom’s perspective. I absolutely love your blog and would love to nominate you for the Leibster Award. The Liebster Award is awarded to bloggers with under 200 followers to try to promote their blog a little and bring together a community of bloggers. Its also a bit of fun! The rules of the competition are as follows:
1.) The nominated user must provide a link back to the person who nominated them.
This is my link: http://funnyrunnyren.wordpress.com/2014/06/06/458/ 
2.) Provide 11 facts about yourself.
3.) Answer 11 questions set by whoever nominated you.
4.) Choose 11 more people and ask them 11 questions.
 I look forward to reading more from your blog!

Leave a Reply

