My Re-Kindled Love for Literary Fiction (& my reading list for Spring 2015)

It all started a couple weeks ago when I started reading Mindy Kaling’s book, “Is Everyone Hanging out Without Me (and other concerns)?”. This is certainly not literary fiction, nor is it anything I would necessarily recommend to avid readers (although I would totally recommend it to girly, rom-com loving chicks like me). Spending my time with my nose buried in a book re-opened my eyes to a pastime I love: reading for pleasure.

Why haven’t I done this in years? How did I drop such a wonderful habit? Probably because marriage and parenting and grad school preoccupied most of my time.

But I’ve realized something: making time for this despite my busy schedule is totally life-giving. And I guess that’s what most hobbies do… they give you energy, excitement and stimulate your mind in a way that a lot of things don’t…. and it keeps me away from spending needless hours on social media 😉

If you’re into reading (namely literary fiction), please do the following two things:

1. Pick upThe Husband’s Secret” by Liane Moriarty

husbands

I am not exaggerating when I say that this book literally had me pinned to the couch for three days. I finished this 400-page book in a few days (despite having a child and grad school and life to cater to). I really couldn’t put it down. It’s deep and intriguing and has you thinking about the characters and plot line for days afterward. Read it, read it, read it. (PS, it’s got over 13,000 reviews on amazon and is 4.5 stars… I mean… come on.)

2. Join me in my spring 2015 reading list! And maybe it’ll turn into a summer list, depending on how long it takes… 

  • What Alice Forgot by Liane Moriarty
    I cannot wait to read another Moriarty book. Apparently this one reads more light-hearted than “The Husband’s Secret”, so I’ll be relieved to read something more romantic comedy than romantic drama.

alice

  • The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion
    I hear people likening the main character of this book to Sheldon from “The Big Bang Theory”… also apparently a romantic, touching novel about a socially-awkward genetics professor looking for the perfect wife.

rosie

  • Lean In: Women, Work & the Will to Lead by Sheryl Sandberg
    Not literary fiction… but I absolutely love books about women and about leadership. I’m excited to dive into this one, as it’s been recommended to me by many different people I love and respect.

lean in

  • The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry: A Novel by Gabrielle Zevin

storied life

  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling

harry potter

  • Ok, I know, I know. It’s about time I read the final edition of the book series I used to adore. I keep putting it off… but it’s officially on the list, so… it’s going to happen!
Leave a Reply

