Healthy Habits: A little bit is better than nothing

I realized recently how terribly tied I am to perfectionism… and this, my friends, has resulted in plenty of missed opportunities.

For example, I really need to workout. As I mentioned in my last post, I literally have not exercised since Joshua was born. I know a lot of you health nuts are revolted by that… but I have had such a hard time committing and, moreover, being okay with doing a little bit rather than a lot.

I am so used to the mindset that if I don’t workout for at least an hour or two, it just wasn’t worth it. But that mentality needs to die if I am ever going to do anything. It has been the same way with my time in prayer and reading the bible… I need to be okay with doing a little bit rather than a lot because, in all reality, that’s all I can commit to at this point in time. And a little bit is certainly better than nothing.

With that, I am going to share with you what I’ll be committing to… hopefully all my nothings will turn into somethings. Here are my healthy habits for the year:

1. I will be reading through the bible in one year.
I found this simple book to help me go through the bible in a year, which I have never done before. There is a reading schedule that shows you what to read each day. I love the schedule that they’ve created, as it alternates from old testament book to new testament book. There are a couple pages for each week, giving you a historical context and asking questions that help you understand and learn from the reading. I am excited to have some sort of structure to help me actually read my bible.

IMG_5708A Woman’s Guide to Reading the Bible in a Year”- Diane Stortz

2. I will be doing 15-30 minutes of yoga in the mornings.
I don’t have time or money for an actual yoga studio right now. But I DO have something awesome: The yoga studio app. You can customize your own class, choosing level, style, time length, etc. I’ve done it before and it is absolutely wonderful (& bonus that it connects to our Apple TV from my iPhone). I believe it was $3.99 at the app store, but it’s money well spent.

Yoga-Studio-iOS-1.99

3. I am continuing to plow through my reading list.
Do you guys remember that reading list I made? Well, I am pleased to inform you that I’m making a tiny bit of a dent in it 🙂 I have just finished reading “What Alice Forgot”, which I absolutely loved and am now starting two new books: “The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry” by Gabrielle Zevin (literary fiction) and “Encounters with Jesus” by Tim Keller (Christian Non-fiction). Both are wonderful and reading on my spare time has continued to rejuvenate me and keep me happy 🙂

aj  jesus

Leave a Reply

