Morning Routines

I haven’t always considered myself a morning person, necessarily… but when you become a parent, you’re sort of forced into it. And for that, I am incredibly thankful.

2014-10-17.finding-our-brave
Photo Courtesy mops.org

Sometimes, waking up early feels terrible. But almost every single time, I look back and am so grateful that I had the morning. Mornings are rejuvenating for my soul. And when I get things bright and early, then nothing else can interfere with it later. I’m able to get in quality prayer time. Quality workout time. And I always feel refreshed afterwards.

The more and more I read up about leadership, habit and self-care, the more I see the importance of a morning routine…. I don’t know if this is true for everyone, but I certainly feel sharper at 7 am than at 7 pm (maybe that’s a mom thing).

It took me a while to figure out what’s most important for me to fit in in the AM. Here are some habits that create a perfect start to my day :

1. Yoga
In case you were wondering, I am still doing the 30-day Yoga Challenge with Erin Motz (& it’s spectacular). Everyday she works on something different (chest & shoulders, back and gluts, legs, etc.) I LOVE that I can do it in my living room with josh chillin’ in the pack ‘n play. Some people may prefer running or other forms of working out… find what motivates you.

yoga

2. Read, Pray, Journal
I snuggle up on my couch with a bible, my journal and a warm cup of coffee. It’s important for me to read my bible at the start of my day, rather than the end because that sets the tone for my day.

coffee-and-writing

3. Breakfast
Brain food! I used to hate eating breakfast (I have zero appetite in the morning), but by the time I’m done with yoga I have both desire and TIME for food. I generally grab some cereal or oatmeal and of course coffee, coffee, coffee.

4. Go on a walk
This one is especially great if you live by a beach or a park or anywhere green… I absolutely love walking along the ocean and admiring God’s creation. I’m not close enough where I could do this a ton, but with Venice and Santa Monica so close, I certainly want to make more a habit out of this. And if I lived closer to Disneyland, I kid you not, that is where I would go on walks.

Leave a Reply

