My 100 Day Project

#The100DayProject is an awesome challenge that several of my friends are doing right now and I decided to join in on the fun 🙂

This project encourages everyone to participate in 100 days of making. It’s about finding or choosing something that you’re passionate about and showing up day after day for 100 days. It’s ideally about doing something that stirs passion in your soul, brings joy and is realistic.

Many have chosen something artistic and truly creative such as drawing a picture a day, taking a photo of something beautiful, writing a short memoir each day etc. (you can read more about it at http://thegreatdiscontent.com/100days)

I have chosen 100 days of prayer.

FullSizeRender-12

You  may be wondering why I have chosen this, as it is not necessarily creative, nor does it involve “making”. However, after thinking it through, I felt extremely excited about starting #100daysofprayer. Here’s why:

  • It gets me praying.
    Prayer is incredibly important to me as a Christian, yet it’s something I do very little of (I must sheepishly admit). But this has given me some direction and discipline in my prayer life and keeps me showing up everyday.
  • It gets others praying.
    I hope that others will join me in praying for whatever it is I’ve put up on the chalkboard each day… God hears us when we pray. Every. Single. Time.
  • It taps into my passion for social justice.
    am committing to something that’s a passion of mine.
  • It allows God to heal & bring rest to my pained & burdened heart.
    For those of you that know me, you know how weary and achy and burdened I feel by all that’s going on in the world. The shooting at Garissa University in Kenya… the pilot that took down GermanWings flight into the Alps… all the racial injustice right here in our very own backyard. I know that the more we pray for these things and intercede on others’ behalf with God, the more he lifts these burdens off of our hearts. He enters into our pain.
  • It’s a way to serve from afar.
    There isn’t much I can do right now about the world’s injustices (given the fact that I am a wife, mother and graduate student). But I can certainly pray. And prayer is powerful.
Leave a Reply

