Update On Mommy Life (& What’s Saving Me)

I haven’t blogged in a really long time… and the time that’s elapsed between posts has grown exponentially. I know, I know… I’ve put my personal little corner of the internet on the back burner.

But hear me out: Life has been crazy. Absolutely crazy. Wonderful, yet completely packed with chaos. Who knew working full-time could take up so much of my life and capacity? Not me… I can’t even remember the last time I worked full-time (quite possibly never), so as you can imagine, I’ve been a tad overwhelmed. I don’t really have the time for a long-winded update. And being a mom who works full-time deserves it’s own post.

But for now… Here are a few bullet points of what’s been going on:

  • Being away from Josh is too hard.
    So hard in fact, that I don’t think I’m cut out for full-time work right now. I actually have come to realize that working full-time may not really be my thing in general, so maybe I’m just lucky to use Josh as an excuse? I have too many other hobbies… like serving at church, reading, writing and exploring my city with my toddler. He’s young and adorable. And I absolutely hate that I spend more time at work than I do with my baby.

IMG_6054

  • I’m in desperate need of a spa day.
    And lucky for me, I have some phenomenal girlfriends who (for my birthday) got me a gift card to a day spa down here in LA. It’s an AMAZING spa only a mile away from where I live. I have only been to it once before (last year on my birthday when they got me the same gift!) and I cannot wait to go again and get a spectacular facial. It’s cute, it’s bougie… it’s the best splurge.

QB_Thumb

This is the place.
And did I mention they offer a complimentary glass of wine upon arrival?

  • Praying is my only real saving grace.
    I’ve started spending my carride to work every morning in prayer. And now I’m not sure how I’ll get through my day without it. I’m grateful for a God who hears, responds & never sleeps on me. He’s always there.
  • Books, Books, Books.
    From fantasy to historical romance to Christian non-fiction… My leisure time has been filled with books. And it’s brought me a great deal of joy. A lot of my lunch breaks are spent reading and it’s the perfect way to rejuvenate my soul.

the_lifestyle_of_a_prophet-0
My most recent read. Loving it.

  • One of the biggest blessings this season has been finding a babysitter I love and trust.
    One who sends me photos & videos of my baby all day long. She’s taught my kid so much (including an incredible amount of sign language). And loves him dearly. I’m so grateful.
  • I wouldn’t make it without my supportive husband.
    Now that I’m away from home 40 hours a week, he’s had to pick up a lot of my slack. Little did we know how much less I could do around the house while working… Consequently, Nick’s had to do a lotttt…. Taking care of my dental bills… cooking dinner… cleaning dishes every night.. taking my iPhone in to the repair shop… he does it all. #blessed #nobutreallyblessed

IMG_6061_2

Yes, this is the steak dinner he made me ❤

IMG_6086

and then egg rolls from SCRATCH the next night 🙂

  • I dropped my phone in the toilet.
    On a lighter and more comedic note… I dropped  my iPhone in the toilet (never again will I carry my phone in my back pocket).

That’s all for now folks… I’ll write real stuff soon, I promise ❤

Leave a Reply

