My Reading List for Fall 2015

Do you have ever make reading lists? I just started this year!

I’ve found that reading lists:

1. Help me prioritize books I really want to read.
2. Give me a goal, thus keeping me motivated, determined and excited to read.

I’ve read quite a few books so far this year (it’s probably not much compared to the avid reader, but it’s a lot for me). Reading has been an amazing leisure activity, as it keeps me away from TV and social media, while keeping my mind stimulated. Not to mention, it’s incredibly fun 🙂

Here are the books I’m eager to read this upcoming Fall:

fall 2015 reading list

  • Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty
    Without question, Moriarty is one of my favorite authors. I’ve already read ‘My Husband’s Secret’ and ‘What Alice Forgot’, BOTH of which had me pinned to the couch for hours upon hours. And when I finish her books, the stories & characters continually ran through my mind for weeks afterward… She never leaves a single loose end untied. This is her latest novel and I’m thrilled to read it.

big lil ies

  • 7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess by Jen Hatchmaker
    This is actually something I’ve been thinking about A LOT lately, so I was thrilled to hear that someone actually wrote a book about it. Jen Hatchmaker realized how much excessiveness her and her family were living in (isn’t the American life so driven by money & possessions?) So for 7 months, each month her, & sometimes her family, gave up a different item (media, possessions, clothing, spending, etc.). I cannot WAIT to read this book. I hear it’s incredibly challenging, but it’s something I am so thirsty for. I need a detox.

7 experiment

  • In the Name of Jesus by Henri Nouwen
    I love Nouwen. He’s one of my favorite Christian authors. My husband is reading this book right now and I will definitely pick it up after him.

In-the-Name-of-Jesus-9780824512590

  • Soul Keeping by John Ortberg 
    A Christian book about caring for the most important part of you: the health of your soul. I’ve been hearing so many good things about this book (and REALLY good things about the author), so I’m eager to read this one.

9780310275961r1

  • The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah
    I’ve been eyeing this one for a while, given how much attention it’s getting. I picked it up at the store and started reading for a bit and fell in love. I’ve avoided reading what it’s about, so that I can just read it and not know (& also in fear that the tragedy aspect of it may deter me, if there is one)… I believe it’s about WWII and it takes place in Paris, France.

515p3OrN1KL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

  • The Cost of Discipleship by Dietrich Bonhoeffer 
    I’ve been wanting to pick up this book for a really really long time. Dietrich bonhoeffer is one of the most important theologians of the twentieth century and this book addresses our call to discipleship (Jesus’ great commission to Christians). This is one of the ‘must reads’, as far as theology books go.

51G4bZO8VML._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

  • Something Borrowed by Emily Griffin
    Chick lit at it’s finest. I adore these types of novels (romantic, funny & lots of girl drama). They’re my ‘guilty pleasure’ of literature. I’ve been wanting to read this one for a long time and will probably be picking it up this week, actually!

31ksE-zmvHL

Your Turn! What’s on your reading list? 
Leave a Reply

