Everything I’m Into (August 2015)

Books:

  • Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty
    Once again, Liane Moriarty had my body glued to the couch for three days straight. I would stare at Nick like he was crazy whenever he (rightfully) asked me for help with Josh because I could not put this book down. What I love about Moriarty is that she never leaves any knot untied. The ending to this book was unbelievably satisfying.
  • In the Name of Jesus by Henri Nouwen
    So good. He sounds like a non-secularized Brene Brown (but he came first obviously). Nouwen has a way of stating things that are so simple, yet SO profound. This book was all about Christian Leadership and what the church and our world needs, more than anything, is people who are vulnerable and know Jesus intimately.

places:

  • JW Marriott in Palm Desert
    Nick and I picked this place for vacation because we wanted somewhere that was a close drive (ish) to LA and somewhere we could lounge by the pool all day and relax. Let me tell you, this hotel is unbelievably nice. And we had the BEST time (so much so, that we wonder if we should make it an annual trip). Here’s the view from our hotel balcony:

IMG_6397

IMG_6447
J
ust so you know, this was one of their numerous pools.

  • Big Bear Lake
    Ok not gonna lie… I realized I don’t really like Big Bear. I’m not a skier. I’m not a mountain climber. And I certainly am no fan of long windy car rides that make me (& my son) want to throw up. BUT we had a wonderful time thanks to the fact that we were with friends we love (we came for one of Nick’s work conferences). Would I choose Big Bear over other vacation spots? Probably not (If I must get all cabin-y, I’m a Lake Tahoe girl). But I realized that when you’re with friends & family, it simply doesn’t matter where you are.

IMG_6367
Josh & I exploring Big Bear while Nick was in meetings

Experiences:

  • Taylor Swift 1989 World Tour
    First time seeing my TayTay live and it was everything I dreamed it would be. She is an incredible performer. Sheer talent. The best part was that she gave every single audience member a wrist band that lit up throughout the show (different colors for every song). It was so cool to see all 40,000 people in the audience lit up.

IMG_6608
U
s in front of the TayTay tour bus

  • Ultimate Girls Night
    lady friends. wine. fancy cheese. a chick flick. facials. nail polish. cookies. That is literally everything you need for the BEST. the ULTIMATE girls night. Needless to say, we will be having another one this weekend.

IMG_6241  IMG_6242
Food & Korean Face Masks

Foodie:

  • Salt & Straw
    A famous L.A. ice cream spot located in Larchmont. Everyone was telling me to try this place. They had really unique ice cream flavors and a line that poured onto the street. We ended up getting: roasted strawberry macadamia nut, almond brittle with sea salt (Natalia) AND black olive goat cheese and something chocolate-y I can’t remember (Nick).

IMG_6338

  • Shinsengumi Ramen
    Our new favorite ramen place in West L.A. (well, mine… Nick still prefers Santouka). I love this place!

Music:

  • Shawn Mendes
    Thank you TayTay for having a phenomenal opening act, named Shawn Mendes. I’m sure I’m lumped in with all the 12 year old girls for loving this guy. But he is SO talented. Listen to his songs “Stitches” and “Weight” on Spotify. (the video is weird, but the song is ridiculous. so good.)
Leave a Reply

