11 Things I Learned in August

1. A baby harness solves a lot of amusement park problems.

While this is all too true of how much easier our time was with a baby harness, I couldn’t ignore the massive stares and glares from people. I wanted to let everyone know that he actually acquired way more freedom with a baby harness than when he had to hold my hand. But oh well. We’re still going to use it.

IMG_6671

2. I need to be more mindful when choosing a book to read.

I read “Big Little Lies” by Liane Moriarty in the span of 2.5 days. Although I adored it, it was a little too intense for me. So intense, that whenever I wasn’t reading it, I was thinking about it and really rattled by it. It shook me up and had my mind glued on it for at least a week afterward… not in a good way, but in a ‘keep me up at night’ way. I had learned a while ago that it’s unhealthy for me to watch movies that are too sad or too scary because of the extent to which they affect me… I guess the same concept must be applied to books.

3. I need to regularly go on a media fast.

My 2-week long media fast in August was so so so good for me. I was so much more present with my friends and family. And I spent infinitely less time on FB, Instagram, Snapchat, and in front of the TV. I feel embarrassed admitting that I have pretty bad mind-numbing habits. At the end of the day when I’m exhausted, all I want to do is veg out. During my fast, though, I felt a lot healthier spiritually, emotionally & mentally. And I decided to do it at least 5 days a month.

4. There are a lot of movies I need to see.

Ironic to put this after #3, I know… but here’s the list of movies I’ve never seen that I (apparently) must see:
“When Harry Met Sally”
“Sleepless in Seattle”
“The Sound of Music”
“The Princess Bride”
“Brave”

5. “Mickey’s Magical Map” show in Disneyland is a must-see. And I want to be in it.

Have you guys seen it? Nick and I saw it for the FIRST time (can you believe it?) yesterday and were both completely awe-struck. The dancers & singers were incredible (am I thinking about auditioning for it? yes I am). Also, another thing we loved is that they showcase all the “under-the-radar” princesses (Pocahantas, Mulan, Tiana, Repunzel). They were all stars of the show and we loved it.

mickeymagicalmap_4-600x399

6. I need to learn how to apply the things I learn in books.

I’ve read some INCREDIBLE books recently(namely Christian books) that are filled with wisdom and brilliant, life-changing nuggets. I have desperately been wanting to apply everything I’ve learned, but am really not sure how. I totally get why reading books in groups makes sense now… Accountability for application! Maybe I should get a book club going…

7. Studying for the NBCOT exam has been really really challenging.

It’s been insanely difficult finding time to study. Everyone told me they only needed a month. But no one else had children… so… maybe I need two months. At least.

8. “Big 2” is our new favorite game.

Nick & I play it every night.

9. I love giving myself at-home spas/facials.

I love getting facials and pedicures. However… they are always really pricey. And I often feel uncomfortable getting my nails done (I’ve learned recently that a lot of those mani/pedi salons severely under-pay their workers and treat them poorly 😦 ) So for various reasons, I’ve begun to look up at-home spa treatments on Pinterest and have found some amazing stuff (for my face and feet). I will attempt to write a post on my findings, but if you’re interested, let me know!

10. My favorite place in the world is a bookstore.

All I ever want to do is go to Barnes & Noble, grab all the books I’ve been dying to read, sit at one of their tables and read. I did this with Joshua and it was so fun. Hopefully he’ll grow up loving books too 🙂

IMG_6690 IMG_6692

11. I am eager to re-visit the Korean spa.

I know I just said I don’t like going to certain mani/pedi places, but you guys… this is so different. Korean spas are the BEST. And LA has really good ones. The last time Nick & I went to a Korean spa was a little over two years ago… we’re definitely due for another visit 🙂

Leave a Reply

