What I’m Into (October 2015)

A lot of books this month… not much TV/media… and a few food items. Enjoy 🙂

Books:

IMG_6770

  • The Gifts of Imperfection by Brene Brown
    I inhaled this book way too quickly and wish I had taken my sweet time with it. I absolutely love Brown and her research. I learned a LOT from this book (although, I will admit it was incredibly similar to “Daring Greatly”). However, she did provide practicals at the end of each chapter on how to start applying what you’re learning. It’s a truly spectacular book. I’d recommend it to anyone. Literally anyone.
  • For the Love by Jen Hatmaker
    Ah, Jen Hatmaker. I love her. She writes about all the things I want to write about. She says all the things I want to say to the world. And I absolutely love her voice in books: authentic, transparent, and absolutely HILARIOUS. I will say however, I would NOT recommend this be the first book of hers that you read. Start with “Interrupted” or “7”. This book is a tiny bit all over the place… kind of like riding her brain waves. I loved it, of course, but if you’ve never read any of her books, I wouldn’t start with this one.
  • Why Not Me by Mindy Kaling
    A fun, lounge-y read. I loved her first book so I had to pick up her second. People warn that this book isn’t as good as her first, but I actually love it just as much (so far)! She talks a ton about her path to getting where she is now.
  • Anything: The Prayer that Unlocked My God & My Soul by Jennie Allen
    Reading this with a group of girlfriends via a virtual book club. It’s been so fun to chat about this book together and re-connect every week (even if it’s digital). This book is challenging and an interesting read so far about total & complete sacrifice of your life to Christ.
  • Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling
    I am proud and excited to announce that I officially got my husband to start reading HP! And he LOVES it! It’s as J.K. Rowling says, “If you don’t like to read, you haven’t found the right book.”

Food Items:

  • Sweet potatoes
    I can honestly say that I have added this to every. single. meal this week. No I’m not kidding. I’ve realized it ALWAYS kicks the meal up a notch. Enchiladas? Try it with roasted sweet potatoes. BOOM. Stuffed bell peppers? add the sweet potatoes. Chili? add ’em. Seriously, anything at all… sweet potatoes are not just healthy, but will kick any meal up a notch.
    Here’s a simple, easy peasy recipe for roasted sweet potatoes (pretty much what I do): http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/tyler-florence/roasted-sweet-potatoes-with-honey-butter-recipe.html
  • Apple Sauce (Unsweetened)
    This has been key in our house. We add it to Josh’s oatmeal every morning and he gobbles it all up like it’s ice cream. We’ve also been substituting a lot of sweeteners in dessert with this and it’s worked great.
  • EatPastry: chocolate chip (vegan cookie dough)
    Found this at a specialty grocery store and had to try it. It was amazing. Nick & I both loved it.
  • The Cookie Dough Cafe (edible cookie dough)
    I saw this on the Shark Tank last year and was desperately craving it the other day so I googled the nearest place that sells them and went to buy a personal-sized cup of it. It was sooooooo delicious. The bad news: super unhealthy. The good news: Every ingredient is recognizable! So at least you know what you’re eating.

chocolatechip_2

Other Items:

  • Aveeno Facial Sunscreen (spf 55+)
    A couple things:
    1. I’ve been noticing random dark spots appearing on my face… typically in the shape of a faded mole. At first I was worried and then I started asking around about it… turns out it’s the sun. THE SUN. Looks like I’m aging, y’all.
    2. I’ve switched over to Aveeno from Neutrogena because I’ve heard the Neutrogena sunscreen is no longer recommended… anyone else heard this? Either way… Aveeno’s been great 🙂
  • Day One: a journal for the iPhone, iPad & Mac
    Okay, so I don’t actually have this yet, but my husband has it and loves it. I’m definitely a “journal-er”, but I’m kind of getting tired of the paper & pen (never EVER though I’d say that)… thinking of giving Day One a shot.

Leave a Reply

