10 Things I Learned in November

1. People are always impressed when I quote the Godfather.
They always freak out and go “you can quote the Godfather?? I’m impressed!” And YES, I can indeed quote the Godfather. The lines I typically say are, “go to the mattresses”, “leave the gun, take the canoli” and “monday tuesday thursday wednesday”. My fellow chick flick fans may have caught on, that the only reason I can quote “the Godfather” is because they quote it in “You’ve Got Mail” (one of my faves). So actually, I am just quoting Tom Hanks & Meg Ryan. Sorry to disappoint.

2. Trader Joe’s Mini Dark Chocolate Mint Stars are the best.
loveeeee Trader Joe’s treats. Especially their Christmas treats! If you haven’t tried these yet, please pick them up. They are AMAZING. And be careful not to eat through the whole box in one sitting (it’s possible, don’t ask me how I know).

3. L.A. officially feels like home.
After going home to the Bay Area this last break, I found myself missing Los Angeles… Sure, it was great to see family & friends and have our parents help out with Josh. But I’ve realized how much of a life we’ve built down here. It’s where our family is being made. There’s no denying our city is absolutely crazy… but God has done so much for us here. I am grateful to report that I can officially call this home.

4. A family photo shoot in cold weather is totally useless.
I know now to either NOT do it in this type of weather next year or at least bundle us up way more. L.A.’s knocked the cold-tolerance out of us. We took a bunch of family shots in the Bay Area (temp in the mid 30’s!) when we were visiting. Josh looked like this in all of them:

IMG_7042IMG_7128 IMG_7065

Not having it.

5. In friend communities, we need to be transparent with each other.
I’ve realized that one of the things I love most about my community is our ability to be totally unabashedly transparent. With zero judgement. That’s really hard to find… even in Christian circles (maybe especially in Christian circles). I’ve decided this will be one of those things I look for in friendships: transparency & authenticity. People who can be themselves (the good & the bad) without fear of judgement. People that can lovingly & truthfully speak into each others lives without condemning one another.

6. Adults have a lot to learn from kid’s TV shows.
We let Josh watch an episode of “Daniel the Tiger” before bed every night and I always think to myself, “Wow, grownups should watch this.” They address all sorts of kids people issues like sharing, jealousy, communication, forgiveness, kindness, feeling hurt, etc. Adults would do so well to learn the same lessons we’re giving our children.

7. Amy Schumer is absolutely hilarious.
Okay, okay. She’s really really crude… and offensive and politically incorrect… but I’ve found that I laugh a lot when she’s doing her standup. And, trust me, it takes A LOT to get me to laugh at stand-up comedy. I’ll randomly think about one of her bits when I’m out somewhere, like at a coffee shop or bible study (eek!) and just start laughing. She’s hilarious.

8. I can make bomb cupcakes from scratch.
I usually just get the box, but this time it was late and I couldn’t go out. So I just used what we had and made chocolate espresso cupcakes with peanut butter frosting… ALL from scratch! And it came out amazing. I can’t wait to try different kinds. Baking is my new therapy.

9. ‘Jane the Virgin’ is my & Nick’s new favorite T.V. show.
I finally got him into it and we are plowing through the first season! I’ve already seen it, but there’s SO MUCH in the show that I didn’t realize how much I missed. We are both obsessed. (yes, both of us.)

10. I’m learning how to deal with conflict.
I’ve (for some reason) had to deal with a lot of conflict resolution over the past year… maybe not a lot, but definitely more than usual. Most of my life, I haven’t had to deal with that or maybe I’ve been super passive, I’m honestly not sure! But this year, I’ve found myself learning how to have hard conversations and resolve various issues amongst friends and family. It’s not easy learning how to have those conversations, but it’s absolutely necessary. I’ve grown so much through it.

Leave a Reply

