An Epiphany About Sweatpants & Comfort

I realized something the other day: I love sweatpants. In fact… I wish I could wear a onesie. Like my boy.

IMG_6877
Like his mom, he wears comfy everywhere.

I love being comfy. The second I get home and realize I have no where to go after dinner, I dive into my PJ’s. I love the feeling of wearing nice, soft clothing, putting slippers on my feet and walking around with a blanket. I sound like a toddler… But you guys, I love this. And I’ve realized how odd it is, because a lot of people stay in their work clothes for a while or at least wait til after 5 PM to get “scrubby”. But I’m pretty quick. I want my yoga pants. My soft shirt. My fuzzy socks. I’ll choose pajama party over cocktail party any day.

And then I had a little epiphany: what about all those people who don’t have the luxury of cozy? What about the man that lives under the bridge, only about 100 ft from my apartment… what about him? Does he have the option to ‘get warm & snuggly’ outside in the freezing weather?

What about all the others in the world with no home? no family? What about the millions of women involved in sex trade… where are their ‘homes’? What about those who live in an unsafe home… do they get the luxury of comfort? What about the immigrants who have to work from before sunrise to late at night in order to make ends meet… do they get to relax? What about all the refugees who’ve had to flee their homes in Syria (& all the other countries in the world)? What about them? Who will care for them and their children? The CHILDREN. As I tuck my own boy in at night and pray over him, I can’t help but think of all the CHILDREN who are displaced. afraid. in poverty. and have no one to care & pray over them.

There are millions… tens of millions… who do not get the luxury of comfort.

I sat there feeling two things: sad & privileged. There is a great imbalance in our world and it’s not difficult to see that things aren’t right.

As I sit here feeling desperate for change and eager for a solution, I remembered this verse:

From everyone who has been given much, much will be demanded; and from the one who has been entrusted with much, much more will be asked.
-Luke 12:48

Now that I have become aware of my privilege, what will I choose to do with it? God promised that there would be abundance in this world, but He did not promise that it would be distributed evenly. And so He says, “to whom much has been given, much will be demanded.

Right before this verse, Jesus also talks about our knowledge… what we know & what we don’t know. When we DO know the truth, we are expected to act accordingly. What will I do with this truth? How will I choose to respond to injustice? How can I use my privilege?

It is still something I wrestle with every time I go to pray for the world’s injustices. What I am grateful for is that when Jesus says “Abide in me”, the word abide means “to make your home in”. There is promise, even for those who don’t have an actual home… because Jesus says our home is in Him.

I know that I can’t end world hunger… but I can choose to feed someone who’s hungry. And hopefully teach my kid to do the same. As Mother Teresa said, “If you can’t feed a hundred people, then feed just one.”

I’ll leave you with a Katie Davis quote, author of “Kisses from Katie”:

“I have learned that I will not change the world. Jesus will do that. I can, however, change the world for one person. So I keep stopping and loving one person at a time. Because this is my call as a Christian.”
-Katie Davis

 

One thought on “An Epiphany About Sweatpants & Comfort

Leave a Reply

