New Years Resolutions for 2016

New Year’s resolutions.

I know a lot of people have mixed feelings about ‘resolutions’, but I’m just going to throw it out there that I’m a fan. I love goals. I love things to strive for. I love the idea of starting fresh and having my motivations written out so that I know what the heck I’m doing.

I made a couple commitments that I stuck to last year (about eating habits & time-wasting habits). I also made a few commitments that I really did NOT stick to (about exercising…woopsy).

This year, I’ve spent some good time reflecting on 2015 and know what I want to strive for for the upcoming year. Last year, I chose a word (courage) to define my year. I stuck to it for the most part…. but this year I want to take it a step further.

I am choosing, not just a word for 2016, but a quote that I want to remember when I’m afraid… followed by an array of resolutions. Here are my goals for 2016:

Quote to remember:
Well-behaved women seldom make history.” by Laurel Thatcher Ulrich

1. Speak my mind, even when I’m afraid to step on toes.
This goes along with my quote. I have come to the conclusion (through the help of my husband) that I have a side that most people don’t see. A side that is passionate, zealous & wholly committed to justice. But it gets snuffed out by my fear of what people will think of me… my fear of disagreement… my fear of ‘ruffling feathers’. But I am choosing this year to commit to courage (again) and stand up for others, for justice & not letting fear silence me.

2. Read at least one book a month.
My favorite. Hopefully it will be more than one book a month!

3. Exercise at least 3x / week.
An exercise tool that has helped me is the “7 minute workout” app on the iphone. Anyone can commit to 7 minutes of working out a day. I’m sure that seems unbelievably short for a lot of you gym buffs, but I would definitely recommend this to those that can’t seem to get up off their booty’s (like me!), 7 minutes is better than 0 minutes 🙂

4. Eat fruits & vegetables everyday.
If you’ve got any good recipes for tasty veggie sides, send them my way please.

5. Cut back on sweets.
I will continue with the no sugar/sweets before dinner rule and maybe kick it up a notch if I can…

6. Watch less TV.
Because this consumes way too much of my life. Nick & I are committed to no TV until the end of the month (except for ‘The Bachelor’ for me, because I just have to, and because it’s also a social thing). This will be hard for us, but will help us NOT do a 3-hour Netflix binge every other night.

7. Go on regular social media fasts.
I will have to commit to this, since I listed social media as my single biggest time-waster from last year.

8. Stick to my capsule wardrobe.
I am a minimalist and absolutely ADORED my capsule wardrobe last year… here’s to another 3 months of committing to only wear 32 items of clothing/shoes and NOT purchasing any new clothing!

9. Look presentable when I go out.
Because I am currently at Starbucks wearing yoga pants and a hoody. Time to act like a grown-up.

10. De-clutter everything.
Box up the excessive amount of toys, clothing and crap that accumulates in our itty bitty apartment.

11. Pray more.
This probably should be #1 on the list, since this is my life-line.

12. Invest in people. 
Because I love people. And because we are made for communion. If I learned anything from last year, it is that people matter and the best thing I can offer my friends, co-workers & everyone is my time. I don’t know where I would be without those who invested in me. Time to start making my relationships a priority.

Leave a Reply

