10 Things I Learned in March

  1. ‘The Wiggles’ is Joshua’s new favorite show.
    Step aside Daniel the Tiger. My dancing, singing toddler is ALL about the Wiggles right now. Not to mention mom & dad are pretty into it too… the songs are so darn catchy.
  2. The Hydroflask water bottle is absolutely worth it.
    I finally caved and bought the highly rated & excessively talked about HYDROFLASK. It keeps my water cold all day long. That’s actually not an exaggeration… I filled up my water bottle with ice & water before bed and in the morning, the ice had still not melted. That’s pretty incredible.
  3. Joshua & I love playing tourists in L.A.
    The past couple weeks have been filled with fun visits: exploring the venice canals, beverly hills, new parks & libraries… On my days off, I typically take josh to daycare (because we’re already paying for it and because it gives me a chance to rest & get work done). But last week, I decided to skip daycare and spend more time with him. It’s been more refreshing than I imagined 🙂
    IMG_7688
  4. Our family has a lot of transition coming up.
    New baby. New apartment. I still even consider my job new… There are a lotttt of changes about to take place! Very excited 🙂
  5. This pregnancy is taking a much bigger toll on me than I anticipated.
    I’m cranky. I’m unendingly tired… and the fatigue keeps me from doing the things I normally do (exercise, write, read). My body is seriously spent. I recently caved and had a much-needed cup of coffee (with approval from the OB). Being pregnant with a toddler & a job is so much harder than women get credit for.
  6. Zootopia. is. everything.
    So I feel as though I cannot put into words the way I feel about this movie. It was so SO good. I was blown away at how well it reflected the systemic racial injustice of our society in a not-so-subtle way. I even think they were making a statement about the upcoming election… but Nick says that’s a stretch.
  7. I’m nervous about going from 1 kid to 2 kids.
    I am so grateful to be pregnant and that God is blessing us with a fourth family member. But I am also pretty nervous about all the changes about to ensue… many, many of our friends have said that the transition from 1 kid to 2 kids was harder than any other transition (harder than 0-to-1 or 2-to-3). I would love to hear suggestions from parents on how to best prepare for becoming a family of 4.
  8. My heart is filled when I do ministry.
    I’ve come to the realization that one of the reasons I don’t want to work full-time as an OT is because my heart is also in so many other places… with the limited free time I have, I want to be spending time with my son (obviously) and also a portion of it doing something else I love- ministry. Not that OT can’t be a form of ministry… but since the start of college, I’ve always served & led within the church and I’m not sure I could do with less of it. It’s been an internal struggle for me the past few years wondering if I for sure want to go into healthcare or if I want to be doing ministry full-time. I landed on healthcare for various reasons (& I’m glad I did), but I know that I don’t want to do it full-time because I adore the time I give to ministry and know that I wouldn’t have energy for it if I was working full-time. I hope & believe that one day I’ll go into ministry as a vocation… but that’ll be way down the line.
  9. I’ve taken a break from reading (apparently).
    I’m normally a very avid reader, but I haven’t picked up a book since January… and it’s April. On the contrary, Nick finished a 750-page book (Harry Potter 7) in a month… which is CRAZY for Nick! I haven’t been reading, but I definitely got my husband into it 🙂 if anyone has good book suggestions that will get me back in the books, please send ’em my way!
  10. I want to try calligraphy.
    I’ve always wanted to… thinking about picking it up. Anyone have any recommendations for how to get started?
Leave a Reply

