Healthy Bars: Choco Chia & Choco Crunch

I’ve been trying out healthier recipes recently for two reasons:

  1. My sweet tooth is seriously out of control and I’m desperate for recipes that cut either fat, sugar or both.
  2. I decided to try a VBAC for my next delivery! It’s not totally related, but I want to be as healthy as possible for it… along with kicking up my exercise routine, I definitely need to adjust my eating habits. And I’ll start with my desserts.

Here are, not one, but TWO new recipes I’ve discovered that I already love and feel good about eating. A quick gist:

Choco & PB Chia Bars (on the left): healthy little bars with a ton of protein (note, PB & chia seeds). You can make these as you wish. There is no sugar in these… just dates are used to sweeten it 🙂

Vegan Choco Crunch Bars (on the right): These are like little chocolate bars that taste kind of like a crunch bar. The sweetener used in these is maple syrup & the fat used is coconut oil (great substitutes)!

ENJOY 🙂

Choco & PB Chia Bars

  • 1 cup pitted, whole dates (about 9-10)
  • 1/4 cup plus 1 tbsp peanut butter (I used crunchy)
  • 1/4 cup peanuts (or any nuts & dried fruit… I would suggest trying with raisons, dried cranberries, or even chocolate chips to add some yum)
  • 2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 tbsp chia seeds
  1. Add all ingredients to food processor and process until the ingredients break down and become a mostly cohesive mixture. You will still have little pieces of peanuts remaining, and the consistency of the mixture should hold together when you press it together.
  2. Line a rimmed dish with parchment paper and press mixture into it, leaving your desired thickness. I used only about half of an 8″ x 8″ baking dish as I didn’t have a smaller dish available.
  3. Refrigerate for at least 45 minutes before slicing. Store bars in the refrigerator.

recipe slightly adapted from: http://www..com/2016/03/15/chocolate-peanut-butter-chia-bars/

Vegan Choco Crunch Bars

  • 1/3 cup of cocoa powder (unsweetened)
  • 1/2 cup of coconut oil
  • 5 tablespoons of pure maple syrup
  • 1 teaspoon of pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup of rice cereal
  • pinch of salt
  1. Melt coconut oil with cacao powder in small saucepan on low heat.  Add maple syrup, vanilla, and a pinch of salt and mix well.
  2. In a bowl, mix rice cereal and chocolate mixture so rice cereal is completely covered and mixed well.
  3. Line a 9X5 bread pan with parchment paper.  Pour in rice cereal and chocolate mixture.  Level into a even layer.
  4. Place in freezer for 15 minutes until completely set.
  5. Lift parchment paper out of pan and separate the bar from paper.  Cut into bars and enjoy!  Keep in freezer so chocolate stays set.

recipe slightly adapted from: http://www.servedfromscratch.com/chocolate-crunch-bars-vegan/

 

Leave a Reply

