10 Things I Learned in August

img_7834

  1. I am officially a “Review Kick” user.
    Maybe I’m late to the game, but have you heard of this? You sign up at Review Kick (either as a seller or a reviewer) to receive certain Amazon products at a heavily discounted rate in exchange for a review. You pick your product, wait to get approved, then purchase, use & review. I just got my first item (a diaper bag) at 67% off! So great! Haven’t been using this site long enough to really say how much I like it, but so far, I very much appreciate the discounted diaper bag 🙂
  2. I love reading & taking notes on my Kindle.
    It took me a while to get used to. And I still think it is no replacement for your good old fashioned book. But I certainly read quicker on it and I can store all of my notes in one place. In fact, I just emailed myself a doc of everything that’s been hi-lighted & noted in my most recent kindle book (“Uninvited” by Lysa Terkeurst… so good btw).
  3. As Christians, we cannot claim to love Jesus while completely ignoring injustice. This is a form of hypocrisy.
    Jesus loves justice. If we love him & claim to follow him, we must care about the things he cares about. I see unending injustice locally, nationally globally… yet the church in America (as a whole) appears to be largely silent about it. Can we say we love Jesus & follow him, while at the same time, refuse to engage with or even care about issues of injustice? I’m not sure. It’s sad to notice this so-often true reality: We don’t look like our Christ. We don’t love & care about the things He cares about (the marginalized, the hurting, the broken). If the church truly looked the way Jesus had envisioned, people would be flooding through our doors. I will be the first to admit that I am no where near where I want to be, nor do I know as much as I would like surrounding this topic. But I do know that I am desperately longing for change… for knowledge… and for there to be continued dialogue and open conversation amongst Christians (& others) in regards to what God’s heart for justice is.
  4. The ‘Frozen’ musical at Disneyland is AMAZING. And could probably be a broadway show.
    Besides the fact that it would be too short (it’s about an hour long), this musical is legit. So many amazing singers, actors, and on top of all that, incredible stage & light effects that I’m eager to see again. Oh and I also want to mention that one of the actresses that plays Elsa is definitely bi-racial (black/white)… I thought this was an awesome move on Disney’s end.
  5. I still need to see Selma.
    Suddenly realized last week that I still have not seen this film about the civil rights movement (after being told repeatedly to go see it). I gotta get on that.
  6. If you are bored and want to freshen up your place, re-arrange the furniture.
    We’ve completely changed up Josh’s room (which he will now be sharing with his baby bro) and have also migrated Nick’s desk (aka home office). Definitely feels fun and like our apartment is new again 🙂 Sometimes it’s nice to shake things up.
  7. I cannot remember what it’s like to have a newborn.
    I’m 39 weeks and counting… slightly more prepared than a few weeks ago, but still feeling like I don’t remember anything from last time. My most recent google searches have been “what goes in a newborn diaper bag” and “what do you pack for the hospital labor/delivery”.
  8. Joshua cannot stop singing, “It’s a Small World After All”.
    He literally sings this song every… single… day. My and Nick’s alarm clock is Joshua singing this song (no exaggeration). And as an added bonus, he thinks it’s hilarious to replace the last word with something silly. Some of his favorite ‘versions’ of this song are: “It’s a small world after mannequin” and “It’s a small world after boat”.
  9. I want to take a family trip to Iran.
    Okay, I know you think this is insane… but it’s really not too crazy. My whole life, I thought I would never go because I kept hearing how unsafe it is (and in some ways, it is). But my dad made the trip this year (for the first time in 37 years) and everything went so smoothly. There are multiple reasons why I want to go: it’s beautiful, we have family there, a place to stay and people to help with our kiddo’s. I would love to see & explore a place so incredibly different from the US. Now to weigh out the pro’s & con’s and figure out if the logistics are possible… we’ll see 🙂
  10. I have become a coffee snob.
    It’s not like I meant for this to happen. In fact, when people have asked me in the past if I’m picky about my coffee, I would always so absolutely not. But living in LA, I have inadvertantly gotten so accustomed to these high-end coffee places, solely because they’re close by (& it’s simply what you do in LA). Places like Philz, The Refinery, Blue Bottle, Intelligentsia, Conservatory… I had Starbucks coffee a few weeks ago and could barely get past a couple sips. Suddenly, it tasted absolutely disgusting. And burnt. When you start drinking good, quality coffee, you just can’t go back.
Leave a Reply

