Chocolatey Almond Oatmeal

oatmeal

I’ve been looking for a quality oatmeal recipe that all 3 Kwok’s would love and I think I found it. This serves about 3 people and whatever you have left can easily be stored for the following morning.

When I made this, I sort of just threw things together. And then as I began to write out the recipe for you all, I had to “guess-timate” measurements (for the last 5 ingredients), so I hope those portions are accurate! Either way, it’s hard to go wrong with this. It was delicious and full of protein (note: milk, oats, almond butter). As you can see, I’ve been getting a kick out of my almond butter. If anyone knows of a place that sells it cheaper than $7/jar let me know 🙂

ENJOY!

Chocolatey Almond Oatmeal

Ingredients

  • 2 C whole milk (or any kind of milk)
  • 1.5 C rolled oats
  • 3 tsp brown sugar
  • 4 tsp cocoa powder (unsweetened)
  • 4 tsp almond butter
  • a dash of cinnamon
  • pinch (or two) of salt

Directions

  1. Pour milk into a small or medium pot, place over stove & put on med/high heat.
  2. When milk starts to bubble, turn heat down to low and add the rolled oats, stirring frequently so that milk & oats don’t burn.
  3. When oatmeal is ready (you can tell because the milk will be mostly absorbed), remove from heat.
  4. Stir in brown sugar, almond butter, cocoa powder, cinnamon and salt until incorporated.**remember that cinnamon is strong and you don’t want to add too much or else it becomes over-powering… I don’t know what ‘a dash’ is numerically, but it felt like the most accurate wording. Just add a little at a time.

 

Leave a Reply

