Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

img_8108

My favorite season has finally begun (not like you would know it by looking around L.A.)! There are way too many things I love about the Fall: pumpkin flavored everything, changing leaves, colder weather, the beginning of school, the return of my favorite fall T.V. shows and (best part of all) the HOLIDAYS. Halloween, Thanksgiving & Christmas back-to-back-to-back. I cannot begin to explain my love for this season and how desperately I wish L.A. looked a little bit more like Boston or New York this time of year (I always think of the gorgeous scenes in “You’ve Got Mail” & how picturesque it must be in NY right now).

Along with the Fall starting and with having two boys, I’ve been eager to start new traditions at this time of year, one of which being this: “Welcome Fall Night”. In my head, I want to grab my three boys, decorate our house all fall-y, bake some yummy pumpkin treats and watch a fall-y movie (i.e. Nightmare Before Christmas? It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown? Harry Potter??) I attempted this the other day and totally failed… The exhaustion of having a 2.5 week old took over and I couldn’t muster the energy to make it happen. The one thing I DID manage to do was make these delicious cookies. The recipe yielded, what felt like, a billion cookies and we’ve already eaten most of them… so beware.

I will leave you with this wonderful recipe. Do you have any recipes or fall traditions you do with your families? I’d love to hear!

 

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup pure pumpkin
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 cups (12-oz. pkg.) semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 375° F.
  • Combine flour, baking soda cinnamon and salt in medium bowl.
  • Beat butter, brown sugar and granulated sugar in large mixer bowl with electric mixer on medium until well blended.
  • Add pumpkin, egg and vanilla extract. Mix on low until combined. Stir in flour mixture. Batter will be soft. Fold in morsels. Drop by tablespoon onto ungreased baking sheets about 2 inches apart.
  • Bake for 10 to 12 minutes or until edges are firm. Cool on baking sheets for 2 minutes; remove to wire racks to cool completely. Store in airtight container.
Leave a Reply

