Best Ever Banana Bread

The past month has been a doozy. Both of my children AND my husband have alternated being sick back-to-back-to-back for the last several weeks. We’ve all been cooped up at home with blankets, fever-reducer, hot tea & an ever-running humidifier. Needless to say, as keeper of the house, I’ve been relying on a steady stream of coffee to keep me up & alert (feeling like Lorelei Gilmore right about now).

With all this going on, our fam’s been feeling quite gloomy. Not to mention, our country’s current state of affairs has had my husband and I in even more of a rut.

I had a lot I wanted to say about how difficult things have been dealing with the current #muslimban and having family that still reside in Iran… How much pain I am in knowing that there are millions (billions?) of displaced refugees, scrounging for safety while our country slams the door in their face. I’ve been reading story after story of what’s going on globally and it’s left me at a loss for words.

And I still don’t have words to give you.

This morning was one where all I could really do was pray. Pray for the many who are suffering… pray for our country… pray for wisdom on how to help from an area as remote as Los Angeles.

I also decided it was a morning that needed a pick-me-up. An incredible cup of coffee (from our new french press), the Hamilton Mixtape playing on Spotify, and this new, unbelievable recipe for home-made banana bread.

If you’re in need of a pick-me-up too, I’d highly recommend doing what I suggested above^^. Pray, pray, pray. Give thanks. And maybe try some self-care (in the form of baking to Hamilton music).

img_8598

BEST EVER BANANA BREAD

INGREDIENTS

  • 1cup butter
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 3-4 bananas, finely crushed
  • 1 1cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 350º.
  2. Cream together butter and sugar.
  3. Add eggs and crushed bananas.
  4. Combine well.
  5. Sift together flour, soda, cinnamon and salt. Add to creamed mixture. Add vanilla.
  6. Mix just until combined. Do not overmix.
  7. Pour into greased loaf pan.
  8. Bake at 350 degrees for 45-50 minutes.
  9. Keeps well in an airtight container, refrigerated.

**I would highly suggest serving alongside an incredible cup of coffee and some fresh, home-made whipped cream 🙂 

Leave a Reply

