Little Joys (& Life Lessons) in March

Reflection & Gratitude time. Here’s what I’ve been up to the last month:

  • Reading:
    Where’d You Go Bernadette
    Not to sound dramatic, but this book is everything I want in a book… I mean if you were to ask me what type of book is my favorite, I would say one like this: a light-hearted, funny-but-deep story with strong female leads and super engaging writing. I loved the mother-daughter dynamic in this book and so much of the story spoke to my soul in ways I’m still processing.

    When Breath Becomes Air
    This is going on my ‘books that changed my life’ shelf, right next to Daring Greatly and Kisses from Katie. This book should be a requirement for people working in healthcare (but still such a thought-provoking & beautiful read for anyone). If Bill Gates & his wife tell you it’s the best non-fiction book they’ve read… you read it.

  • Realizing:
    -I don’t know how to get back into an exercise routine. Fellow moms? How do you do it? When I have two little children and only a smidgen of free time in the day, do I really have to spend it exercising? Calling out an SOS for how to start working out again.
  • Enjoying:
    -Baby Kai… my chill baby. I love having a baby again. There are some obstacles that come with having a baby, of course… but it’s just so fun snuggling with my little nugget. They grow up so much quicker the second time, don’t they?
  • Eating:
    -Arugula salad. This is my new favorite, quick, throw-together salad that goes with pretty much every meal. It’s just arugula, lemon juice, olive oil & freshly cracked pepper, all tossed together.

    -DIY Breakfast bars. Ever since my & nick’s fast in January, we’ve been making our own breakfast bars and they’re amazing. All you need is to throw dates & cashews in a food processor & you’re done (everything else is extra, but we sometimes throw in pecans, raisins, almonds, etc. as well).

    -Mocha Joe Joe’s. Have you seen these on the shelves at Trader Joe’s? I’m too embarrassed to tell you how many I ate in one sitting. All I’ll say is you should try them.

  • Watching:
    The People vs OJ
    This show has me locked in. And it’s actually quite historically accurate. I vaguely remember my parents watching the OJ trials back when I was a kid. It’s super interesting seeing all that happened behind the scenes.

    The Crown
    My replacement for Downton. LOVE IT. Just waiting for season 2 now 🙂

  • Trying:
    Bulletproof coffee. I haven’t decided how I feel about it yet. Still feels weird to put butter & coconut oil in my coffee…
  • Listening to:
    -Beauty & The Beast Original Motion Picture Soundtrack
    I’m singing this all day long.
  • Rejoicing in:
    -Our amazing friends & family.
    You guys, I know I say this almost every single post, but it’s so true… I love you guys.
Leave a Reply

