10 Things I Learned in April

IMG_9072

  1. My new book about motherhood & travel speaks to my soul.
    I’m only about a third of the way through the book (At Home in the World: Reflections on Belonging While Wandering the Globe), and have loved it so far. It’s a memoir written by a wife & mom of 3 kids who longs for travel. Her & her husband decided to take nine months out of the year to travel the world (while their youngest was 4!) and this is her journal during that time. I’ve enjoyed it so far because I relate to it that longing and have for a while. But I have never been sure what to do with it since so many moms & families with young kids tend to stay put and save the ‘big trips’ for when everyone’s older. Reading her journey normalizes my desire.
  2. I need to start making my own sourdough bread.
    I LOVE sourdough bread. Pretty sure we buy two baguettes every week from Trader Joe’s. I’m excited to start making my own. Any suggestions from those that already do this?
  3. Learning how to cut boys hair would be a wonderful & very resourceful skill.
    Primarily because taking him to get a haircut at the salon feels like such an ordeal… not to mention a frequent ordeal. Especially in LA where we haven’t even found a regular place yet. Ideally, I would just do it myself. Any suggestions from mama’s who cut their own boys’ hair would be appreciated.
  4. Ed Sheeran’s new album is everything I’ve been craving from music.
    Seriously. I’ve been desperate for new music & it is exactly what I’ve been looking for. My favorites are “Supermarket Flowers”, “Dive” & “Happier”.
  5. I love Trader Joe’s for many reasons, but the main one is this: lack of options.
    Ok there are SO MANY REASONS to love TJ’s. But the limited amount of items they have is actually al big one.
    Believe it or not, one of the reasons Americans tend have high anxiety (relative to people from other developed countries) is in part due to the insane amount of options we have on a daily basis. The fact that you have twenty different brands of strawberry jam to choose from at the grocery store is pretty unheard of in other parts of the world. To some, this may seem fantastic that we have a billion choices for everything, but in reality, even something as trivial as needing to choose which jam to buy every week has lasting effects on our day-to-day mental health. I buy everything from Trader Joe’s regularly so I typically don’t have more than one option for any food item (nor did I think this was super impactful). However, last week, I ventured over to Vons (for whatever reason) and I cannot tell you how much more stressful my grocery shopping experience was. I came home & told Nick I am sticking to TJ’s as much as possible. For an event as frequent as grocery shopping, I would HIGHLY recommend sticking to a place where you know what you’re getting & can rest assured you can grocery shop at a moderate level of peace.
  6. I can always count on my toddler to point out the imperfections on my face.
    As he presses into a new zit on my chin, “Mommy what’s THAT?”… Nothing like a toddler to keep you humble.
  7. Trevor Noah’s “Born a Crime” is a life-changing read.
    For so many reasons, this book had me mulling over it for several weeks after I finished it. Through his own story, he teaches readers so much about systemic injustice, racial inequality, poverty, privilege, politics… I loved that this was primarily a story about his mother & their relationship. I am still pondering over their journey & all the general truths it’s revealed to me about our world. I cannot recommend it enough.
  8. I got Hamilton Tickets!
    I need to take a second to celebrate & express gratitude over this amazing purchase… I am a firm believer in spending on experience. Money spent on experience is rarely wasted. I cannot WAIT to see Hamilton this year!
  9. I know I’m in desperate need of quality rest / ‘me’ time when I yell at my kids.
    I try my best to not raise my voice at or around my children, but I faltered this week when josh took his cup of orange juice & purposely poured it onto the carpet (in the midst of already-happening chaos). Still learning how to lovingly & consistently discipline in a way that isn’t out of anger or impulse.
  10. Following health food & lifestyle bloggers has upped my healthy food habits ten fold.
    I have been seriously loving our food habits this year and finally adhering to my resolution to eat healthier… primarily, I’ve loved finding ways to eat nutritious, healthy foods without sacrificing flavor or breaking the bank. And the fact that chia seeds, almond butter & hemp hearts are regular additions to my current diet is an accomplishment. My go-to bloggers have been minimalist baker & oh she glows. Favorite recipes to come soon.
Leave a Reply

